Hey Y’all!

Hey Ya’ll! This is Ginger Foxwood coming to you for the first time ever! I cant believe this is my first post but I am excited about this journey into embracing my inner pinup!

Now you may be asking what I mean by Southern Fried Pinup? Well, to me that is quite different from your ordinary pinup girl. Just like the perfect chocolate sheet cake your grandmother used to make, I am starting from scratch! I’m cat-walking straight out of my comfort zone and learning things from the very beginning. I’ve NEVER done a victory roll (or anything more than a pony tail), I could probably count the car shows I’ve been to on one hand and my wardrobe currently consists of little to nothing retro.

Up until this point I have been a very discreet lover of all things vintage. I can say that has been the case for a very long time, I’ve always preferred watching classic movies with my grandmother (if you ask me any movie trivia past 1960 I will fail miserably), listening to classic rock music and red lipstick has always been a staple item in my arsenal.

Question? Have you ever listened to “Everybody’s Free to Wear Sunscreen?’ by Baz Lurhman. One of the lines in there goes like this: “Be careful whose advice you buy but be patient with those who supply it. Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth” Is pinup a form of nostalgia? Are we painting over the ugly parts of decades of great heartache and transition with red lipstick and winged liner? Or is this new pinup movement more than the nostalgia and is a bold act of feminism? One that embraces the beautiful female attributes in a way that shows our strength and empowerment through the decades. I cant wait to find out!

So take this journey with me my dolls as I dive out there into the hidden world of the modern vintage.

-Ginger

miq3a6n3

Leave a Reply

