Tattoo flash in my Bible

In my previous post I mentioned how I wanted to practice some traditional tattoo flash art in my bible. So I found these two images on Pinterest and started there:

image

image

Though there are SO MANY amazing “Sailor Jerry” style tattoo art these seemed to be a reoccurring theme throughout the art. And so doing some homework I learned it was for good reason.

For example, according to sailorjerry.com, “In addition to indicating that a sailor had sailed 5000 miles, swallows are also associated with the idea of return. This “return” symbolism is rooted in two ideas. The first was the swallow’s famous migration pattern, always returning home to San Juan Capistrano. Second, it was believed that if a sailor dies at sea, birds carry his soul home to heaven.”
You should definitely check out their website for drawings and meanings.

Now what did I want one of my first drawings to focus on? I went with the Holy Spirit.

Romans 8:25-27 says, “We hope for what we don’t have yet. So we are patient as we wait for it. In the same way, the Holy Spirit helps us when we are weak. We don’t know what we should pray for. But the Spirit himself prays for us. He prays through groans too deep for words. God, who looks into our hearts, knows the mind of the Spirit. And the Spirit prays for God’s people just as God wants him to pray.”

I truly don’t know how I should be praying our how I should be reading the bible so it is beyond a blessing to know that I can be authentic in how I study the Word. Screw ups and all.

There is a beautiful song by Francesca Battistelli titled “Holy Spirit” that can certainly redirect the focus of time spent meditating and praying through art in my bible, it seemed the perfect steering point in my art. I want to make sure to set my priorities straight. Like I’ve said before, my quiet time is rather lacking and it certainly requires a bit more discipline, something that the Holy Spirit can provide to me.

Therefore without further adieu I present to you my bibles first tattoo:

image

Love ya mean it,
Ginger

Leave a Reply

