Presence in the Stillness

Presence in the Stillness

                   You’re sitting at a red light in rush hour and it seems like it may never turn! You constantly stare with hopes that you can stare down the light into submission and it will turn green. Tapping on your steering wheel you start to grow increasingly uncomfortable as that light simply refuses to change! Then your eyes begin to drift to the empty passenger seat, your hand slowly inquires through your purse and you find the familiar shape of your phone. Just a little glance won’t hurt, right? It isn’t like the light is going to turn green anytime soon anyways! Checking Facebook everything around you becomes a blur as you become consumed by the juicy gossip and finding out who ate what for breakfast, then before you know it BEEEEEPPP……..Everyone has gone through the green light and it has started to turn yellow, the guy behind you is furious! How could once glance have almost cost you the green light?!

How often do we find ourselves in this scenario in our spiritual lives? We start off anxious to move forward, ready to grow then slowly we start to grow uncomfortable with the stillness. We find ourselves filling the forced stillness losing faith that our light will ever turn green. We begin to lost faith that we will see the fruit of our labor, that we will ever make it to the finish line. It’s the times of stillness when we become the most uncomfortable but it’s also the times when God can speak the most clearly.

It is my hope that we can transition from a life driven by distraction to a life of presence in the stillness which God places us. When other’s light has turned green, remaining firm in the joy that can be found at the red light.

Lord,

I thank you for the red lights in my life

I pray that you will teach me the importance of stillness and help me to understand that my growth will be made perfect only in Your timing.

Lord, please guard my heart from the distractions that I use to try and fill the stillness and open my heart to hearing You and your guidance as I patiently wait.

Amen

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way, over the man who carries out evil devices!

Psalm 37:7English Standard Version (ESV)

Remember those early days after you first saw the light? Those were the hard times! Kicked around in public, targets of every kind of abuse—some days it was you, other days your friends. If some friends went to prison, you stuck by them. If some enemies broke in and seized your goods, you let them go with a smile, knowing they couldn’t touch your real treasure. Nothing they did bothered you, nothing set you back. So don’t throw it all away now. You were sure of yourselves then. It’s still a sure thing! But you need to stick it out, staying with God’s plan so you’ll be there for the promised completion. It won’t be long now, he’s on the way; he’ll show up most any minute. But anyone who is right with me thrives on loyal trust; if he cuts and runs, I won’t be very happy. But we’re not quitters who lose out. Oh, no! We’ll stay with it and survive, trusting all the way.

Hebrews 10:35-39 The Message (MSG)

 

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.

Psalm 46:10 American Standard Version (ASV)

In the secret, in the quiet place
In the stillness You are there.
In the secret, in the quiet hour I wait,
Only for You, ’cause I want to know You more

-Chris Tomlin “In the Secret”

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am peaceful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait
Yes, I will wait
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve you while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You, Lord

John Waller “While I’m Waiting”

 

Leave a Reply

