Miss Autorama 2015

After Thanksgiving was the Houston Autorama convention and the Miss Autorama Contest!

I found a really good YouTube channel for pinup hair and decided to give a new look a try (https://youtu.be/H5z9b5a-bSc). I also subscribed for uniquevintage.com Dress Of The Month Club (http://www.unique-vintage.com/dress-of-the-month-club?uvcampaign=homepage1221&uvcontent=dotmcbox3). Which is actually worth it. I mean i was a little skeptical for sure, like are they really going to give me some fancy dress for just $50? But heck, I’ll give it a try. I was very surprised by the quality of the dress and so far I think I’ll be sticking with it for at last a few more months.

http://www.unique-vintage.com/dress-of-the-month-club?uvcampaign=homepage1221&uvcontent=dotmcbox3

The dress that I originally ordered ripped the weekend before, but that’s what I get for ordering a $10 Ebay dress I guess. So thank the Lord above my dress of the month came in when it did!!!!

Held in the George R. Brown Convention Center, Autorama was certainly one of the largest events I’ve ever been at. The most beautiful cars and the most beautiful people!!

image

image

image

image

I was a Backwoods Bettie trembling under my petticoat smack dab in the middle of a massive arena of automotive prowess. Suddenly, a man asked to take a photo with me next to his car. Honestly, at first I thought he was joking! Did I try too hard on my hair? Was my makeup ok? I just had no idea why on earth someone would be excited to take my photo. Obliging, I practiced what Ashley taught me: smile, tits to Jesus, back straight, angle your body….oh Lord Jesus it’s hot as hell in this getup….suck in, gentle hands…..dont look so constipated!!.…anyways, you get the idea.

image

image

image

image

After a few more photos with some AMAZING cars, the girls gathered around the stage in preparation for the contest. A wonderful band was playing and I wanted to seriously dance! Let’s just forget this contest and do some good swing dancing!! The way a petticoat moves while a man spins you on the dance floor is pure feminine magic!

image

image

image

The girls we’re all fantastic. They each had a unique biography, amazing answers to their question and every part of their looks were each flawless. Not a lip was unpainted nor a single hair out of place. Vintage perfection!
Then comes my question….what makes me the southern fried pinup? Oh Lord Jesus! I swear I forgot how to speak English, but prancing and twirling that petticoat across that stage I did my best to make my momma and daddy proud as they cheered from the crowd.

image

image

image

image

Then came the winners.

Third place was announced and then second place was announced. Then, the winner of Miss Autorama 2015 is……Ginger Foxwood!! Wait….what?! Are you sure? Like do you need a do over? I couldn’t believe it!! Inside my heart I was screaming, jumping up and down, crying and yelling…..on the outside however I was frozen. This isn’t right, the other ladies area so much prettier, so much more experienced. I waddled over to center stage like a newborn giraffe chanting “smile, tits to Jesus, back straight, angle your body….oh Lord Jesus it’s hot as hell in this getup….suck in, gentle hands…..dont look so constipated!!.…be graceful dammit!!!” I’m just so honored. I didn’t go into this journey to win anything, but to meet people. This is just the most amazing surprise that could have ever happened!

image

image

Well I am so glad that I got my feet wet with having photos taken since alongside last years winner, we got to parade around the cars and take pictures!!! Abel, the photographer with Houston IS Photography was great and since I could barely form a legitimate sentence, I am more than thankful for his guidance. This truly was magical.

image

image

image

image

I cannot wait to hang the sash on next year’s winner!! And I just can’t wait to dive into the photo shoot I won through Houston IS Photography!! And I will say this again, it should be on every woman’s bucket list to do at least one pinup contest!!

Loveyameanit,
Ginger Foxwood

Leave a Reply

