1920s Makeup

image

So since I am now a Benefit Betties prospect I wanted to really show off for my first official event.
And I really lucked out that my first event was the Betties Speakeasy Prom!!!
That’s right kids! I had a reason to practice the fabulous flapper hair, makeup and wardrobe! This was once again a perfect opportunity to play around with some unique makeup styles I would have might have never tried before.

I tried to do a ton of research for this makeup look. Not only because it is the totally different than my go to makeup but also because of the extensive history behind it that I wanted to pay homage to.

image

image

20s makeup is so vastly different than the makeup looks we practice today: fair skin and no bronzer, minimal contouring, rounded features and heavy heavy under eye liner. But if you continue to blend….basically until your arms fall off….you too can accomplish this look!

image

I actually used a lighter foundation than I would traditionally use and started off the smokey eye with gray shadows, gradually going darker in shade as I built on it and finally finishing with black. I blended the shadows on a more dramatic rounded shape, very different than my typical almond shape. The result created a doll eye look.

image

The lips took some practice since the shape is so defined and unique. But I was really impressed with how well It stayed on throughout the evening!! Honestly for 6 bucks, Milani lipstick is now my go to for different colors to try. And tonight I used the darkest they had….FEARLESS!

image

image

Products used:
Tarte Light of the Party eyeshadow palette and blush (grey, black and white shadows) https://youtu.be/XjqJkKSn1_w
Kat Von D Shade and Light contour kit https://youtu.be/5bIvKxMNlbQ
Anastasia Cream Contour Kit (for highlight)
Urban Decay 24/7 liquid eyeliner
Eye Kandy Glitter in Marshmallow
NYX eyebrow kit
NYX high def finishing powder
Milani matte lipstick in Fearless

For the hair….it actually came out amazingly well and was much easier than I anticipated……
I followed the tutorial found at http://blog.modcloth.com/2013/09/10/faux-real-a-wavy-faux-bob-how-to/ and http://thebeautydepartment.com/2011/10/halloween-hair-tutorial-1/
Both tutorials instruct you to section your hair off first and braid the bottom section. This was crazy important because it allowed you to not have to jack with pinning soooooo much more hair than necessary, causing the style with ease.
I was terrified that my hair would fall halfway out of the pins during the night so I burned through half the ozone with the amount of hairspray I used. What can I say? I have trust issues!

After adding the headpiece and a few more pins to make me feel better, Batman and I were ready to party!!!

image

Loveyameanit,
Ginger Foxwood

Leave a Reply

